YOUR SICKLE CELL THINGS!!!

Excuse you! What? No really? WHAT! MY SICKLE CELL THINGS? Breathe girl! Where do I start from? Tabula rasa!

Hmm! Burying your head in the sand. Do ostriches really do that? Like for real, you have a problem, or more accurately a challenge and you pretend it doesn’t exist. Or even worse, pretend to solve it by full on picking the challenge and dumping it somewhere else? Or as they say, sweep it under a carpet? Really? People do that? Why? I can’t get it. There is this simple thing called, taking the bull by its horns and dealing with whatever issues you have like an adult.

I am not one to indulge in cowardice. Certainly not one to avoid a problem. I like to tackle it head on.  So, now, my sickle cell things. Really? Sorry! Will that be the passion that has driven me to beat absurd odds to make it to medical school? Or drive that motivated me to want to be a haematologist, so I can specifically manage others living with this disease?

My sickle cell things! Is that my interest in telling others about sickle cell disease? My interest in trying to prevent the spread of a disease so easily preventable yet an absurd number of children are still born with it annually? My interest in sharing my medical knowledge about sickle cell disease and how to stay healthy with it? Or simply the fact that I am letting others know that all people with sickle cell are not sickly, we can be healthy, and achieve great heights, as evidenced by myself and others doing a lot of great things and not allowing this disease to weigh us down?

My sickle cell things, is that the fact that as a young person, I have decided to stand for something and not just sit around watching movies all day or partying? Or use medical school as an excuse to do nothing but study all day, but rather take on a social project?  Are those my sickle cell things?

Would that be the fact that you are ok with doctors preventing me from doing everything I consider  fun because of AVN. Preventing me from a million things since childhood because I have sickle cell disease?  But when I give myself a break from other stuff you say I am making excuses? Do I need to school you in anatomy and physiology and plain old common sense? Jeez!

It is always said of critics, that mostly, they do not read the stuff they criticize. Case in point. The very suggestions you make, are the exact things I am already doing.

Now, here are some of my sickle cell things for you. No child deserves to be born with sickle cell because their parents were too scared to do what is right. Or too busy focusing on emotions or finances.  Say, for all those who have safe sex, here is a suggestion, find yourself someone who is HIV positive and have unprotected sex with them. No, u wont? It is too risky? Go, get an electrophoresis to know the risk here, hell no! MY SICKLE CELL THINGS!!! There is lot more where this came from. Misplaced priorities! We might as well not save or invest for our future. Why? It is the future! Tomorrow will worry about itself. When the future comes, the money will appear. AGAIN. Misplaced priorities!

GET YOUR HEAD OUT OF THE SAND AND SMELL YOUR OWN BS. Oh I’m pissed. Sorry folks. Consider this an open letter to whom it may concern.

I‘M OUT!!!

Image

3 thoughts on “YOUR SICKLE CELL THINGS!!!

  1. Rhoda

    Preventing me from a million things since childhood because I have sickle cell disease? But when I give myself a break from other stuff you say I am making excuses? Do I need to school you in anatomy and physiology and plain old common sense? Jeez!……(reminds me of my primary to senior high school journey, SMH) I – S00 – RELATE!

    Reply
    1. juanbankas Post author

      hmm Rhoda. It hard ohh. I should share some of those stories. some were just horrible. U shud consider writing too, I dont mind sharing your experiences here. Am sure we’ll have a lot in common

      Reply

Leave a Reply

