AGGRESIVE PHYSIOTHERAPY!!!

After defaulting on physiotherapy for about three weeks,  I went back sometime last week. Some  hostility was anticipated, but, boy, were they pissed! With good reason, I must add.

Physiotherapy like any other form of therapy, is a process not a single event. Missing a day, and in my case three weeks, was basically nullifying all the efforts that had been put in. I really, do know better, I shouldn’t have missed all those physio sessions. I’ve done the whole judgmental doctor/ medical student thing, when a patient with a chronic medical condition simply refuses to take their medication, and presents later with some serious complication which could most likely have been prevented if they just stuck to the recommended therapy. Yeah I get it, I shouldn’t have defaulted, there were just too many factors at play

Stimulator/ endotherapy machine, sends impulses, helps to relieve pain. (Pain gate theory)

Stimulator/ endotherapy machine, sends impulses, helps to relieve pain. (Pain gate theory)

Okay, so here we go. Obviously no excuse quite cuts it. But really, I hate physiotherapy. Simply. That is all I got. I just don’t like the idea of having electrical impulses passed into my muscles, to stimulate some nerves to cause the release of certain substances, which basically function to prevent me from feeling pain. Yeah, I know, what is all this? Principle at work is the gate control theory of pain. Apparently it works, and since I am too young for a hip replacement surgery now, that is all I got. Oh wait, that is not all, so after electrical impulses, we do the infrared rays  (thermal stimulation). Yeah, I hate it all.

Physiotherapy makes me feel disabled. In the “unable-to-function-unless-I-get-electrical-impulses-and-infrared-rays-passed-into-me”, sense of the word. You know that feeling right? Probably not. I didn’t even know such a thing existed till I started physio. Its like I need this, so I don’t feel the pain as my femoral heads turn to ‘cheese’ and collapse one of these days. What happened to the strong, independent woman? Apparently she needs to be ‘recharged’ from time to time to function. It doesn’t quite sit well with me. But hey, at least, I don’t have to be in pain everyday, I should be glad.

Then there is the whole messing with my schedule part of this physiotherapy thing. Medical schools generally, well, in my opinion, try to fit 48 hours of work into 24 hours. It is absurd. You wake up tired and go to bed exhausted. Anyways,thing is, I don’t have time to spare. I basically have to choose between physiotherapy and lectures or ward work. Of course, my health comes first, definitely physiotherapy takes it. But come on, I am not even sick, and am missing so much school work, walking in late to class and such. I don’t like it. Am just constantly in catch up mode. It sucks. I should be grateful tho, am not in that much pain these days, I am only scheduled to have physio twice weekly. It could be worse. I could be missing more classes. Guess I just gotta suck it up and hope for the best.

Now to the immediate cause. These things had been bugging me for a while, but the last straw that broke the camel’s back? Well, for one thing, it was a few weeks to exams. I could not afford to keep missing classes/ tutorials. On the morning of my scheduled physio appointment I had two tutorials. That is another beef I have with the medical school system, they cant seem to be able to keep to their own schedule. Timetable says, I am free, so I schedule physio, next minute, I hear a class or tutorial has been moved to this free time. lt is like we don’t have lives outside medical school,

Anyways, so I decided, to miss one tutorial, go for my physio appointment and rush back for the second tutorial. Those people don’t mess with their time. You are scheduled for a certain time, you better be there. And I was, but somehow, they delayed. 30 minutes, past my scheduled time and I hadn’t been called in. Obviously I was pissed. Why did I miss the first tutorial? I should have just gone for it, because, there I was, delayed 30 minutes, I probably wasn’t going to make it to the second tutorial either. This was just two weeks to exams. Those tutorials are important, not to be missed. So I went in, and calmly , maybe not so calmly  told the physiotherapist that she was wasting my time.Well, something to that effect.  Guess I struck a wrong note. For one, she was new, I had never met her.

So she called me in. And oh, she was rough. Those electrical impulses I mentioned earlier? They didn’t feel right. Felt different, continuous, painful. So I complained.( Ain’t nobody gonna be stimulating my nerves no wrong way.) Lord knows the damage she could have done.  Anyways, she did not quite seem to care. According to her she had set the machine to just the right amount of electrical impulses I was supposed to get. I know for a fact, it is not supposed to hurt while I get treatment. But she left me there in  pain. And there. I had had enough. After my treatment, I just decided, to hell with this physio thing. You ain’t gonna cause me to miss classes, waste my time, inflict pain and be giving me major attitude too. So I decided no more physio for me till after exams. I had more important things to do, So after I was done with exams  I returned. As I already mentioned they were pissed

Fortunately, this unpleasant physiotherapist was not around. I had one of my original physiotherapists. Initially the electrical impulses hurt, I complained and he managed to get it to stop hurting but still stimulate the nerves, unlike the “camel back breaking physiotherapist.”

So am back to my good patient ways. Been attending physio religiously. Except, for some strange reason, I forgot to go yesterday. Simply forgot, that has never happened. I never just forget. I may consciously decide not to go, but forget?. I suspect it has something to do with the french fries I was in a hurry to get for lunch. Hopefully they don’t get too pissed off on Monday, They really need to take a chill pill. I simply forgot. it Happens

3 thoughts on “AGGRESIVE PHYSIOTHERAPY!!!

  1. barefootmedstudent

    Adherence is hard. But I hope you will find a way to do it, since you already have the insight to know that you need it. (I struggle to be treatment adherent to my thyroid medication, so I won’t judge you at all.) Good luck!

    Reply
    1. juanbankas Post author

      Yeah, it really is. Am trying. It is just extra hard when you just hate it, you know. Good luck to you too. Oh you don’t want to mess with thyroid meds 🙂

      Reply

Leave a Reply

